CLIMA FundCLIMA

A five-part online series for funders on grassroots movements, international solidarity, and the climate crisis.

The world is changing rapidly due to climate disruption, and that’s not going to stop. But the direction and impact of those changes is still up for grabs. What role does philanthropy play in supporting action towards justice, collective health, and sustainability?

The CLIMA Fund is organizing Round II of our Underpinning Stories Dialogue Series The End of the World as We Know It?: International Solidarity in the Climate Crisis, running from April to August 2020.

April – August 2020, calls 9am PST / 12pm EST / 5pm GMT

In this five-part dialogue series, the CLIMA Fund and guest speakers from grassroots movements around the globe will connect the dots across our global ecological and social crises, and how grassroots solutions are growing to meet the challenge. Each two hour session will include presentation, dialogue, and breakouts that build on each other over the five online sessions.

Participants will walk away from the series with a deeper understanding of how global climate justice movements are advancing change, and how you can practically take action in support. 

Dialogue themes:

  1. April 28: What is ‘grassroots’? Why & how are grassroots movements the greatest hope for minimizing climate catastrophe? 
  2. May 27: How grassroots movements work within, outside, and beyond the system
  3. June 18: Internationalism: Why the climate crisis requires action beyond borders
  4. July 22: The Nitty Gritty of Funding Grassroots Movements
  5. August 18: Integration and Commitments

Institutional funders, individual donors, and philanthropic advisors encouraged to apply. Registration ends April 15th.